Farmer's Wife / Quilts

New Wave Honey Child Quilt Pieced!

So, this is going to be one of those blogs where the person is discovering things that you knew about years ago, and acting like they are new and awesome. I am the newbie quilter discovering all the things you already knew about, and then trying to tell you how great they are. I’m like the Balki Bartokomous of the quilting world. Exhibit A: my New Wave quilt.

This pattern has been everywhere for about 2 years now, but I just discovered it, and thought it would be perfect for the Sis Boom Honey Child fabric I have been hoarding for about a year and a half now. Exhibit B on how behind the curve I am: I’m not even the first person to come up with that idea. Whatever. I love it.

I love this fabric line, and I love how the pattern has big enough pieces to show off the large prints. I’m really happy with it, although I wish I had cut the prints like the second from the top so that they lined up with each other better. Live and learn. I’m not sure what to do with the backing and binding yet– I might use that dark grey color with a wave row of the prints on the back, and bind it with the same grey. I’m not going to quilt it until the Bernina 750 arrives, which they say will be the end of December. I’m skeptical. It’s never coming. *sigh*

My next new project: the Farmer’s Wife Sampler quilt. Do you know about this? Of course you do. I know, this is so done already. SO DONE. You’re rolling your eyes. But I just discovered the entire project last week when it was blogged about here on Oh, Frannson!, and now I’m all chips in. Trust me, if something was cool two years ago, I will find it and tell you about it. I’ll post my first blocks tomorrow– I’m using this cutesy sushi novelty fabric by Timeless Treasures as my organizing piece, just to keep myself amused.

It’s going to be fun I think. I could certainly use the skill building that making all those new blocks will give me. So, fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

